Category Archives: FREE Kindle Books

FREE Kindle Book! “Black Flagged” by Steven Konkoly

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “Black Flagged” NOW!

Book One of the Black Flagged series.

A graduate of the Department of Defense’s experimental Black Flag program, Daniel Petrovich carries secrets he’d rather keep buried. Secrets his government has hidden in the deepest vaults of the Pentagon. Unfortunately for Daniel, someone is trying to raise Black Flag from the dead and bring Daniel back with it. Someone who knows all of his darkest secrets.

In exchange for the promise of a clean slate and a chance to keep the life he has built with the woman he loves, he agrees to carry out one final mission.

Daniel’s life is about to disintegrate, as he becomes the focus of a relentless FBI manhunt and the target of a vengeful CIA agent. To survive, he’ll be forced to release a dark side he fought for years to keep suppressed. A dark side with few boundaries, and even fewer loyalties.

***
Black Flagged lays the foundation for a gritty, unapologetic series exploring the often unceremoniously brutal world of covert operatives and government agency politics.

Download from Amazon

FREE Kindle Book! “The Abduction of Mary Rose” by Joan Hall Hovey

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “The Abduction of Mary Rose” NOW!

The Abduction of Mary Rose, published by Books We Love, is a thriller in the tradition of Stephen King and Mary Higgins Clark, written by the Canadian Master of Suspense Joan Hall Hovey.

Following the death of the woman she believed to be her mother, 28-year-old Naomi Waters learns from a malicious aunt that she is not only adopted, but the product of a brutal rape that left her birth mother, Mary Rose Francis, a teenager of Micmac ancestry, in a coma for 8 months.

Dealing with a sense of betrayal and loss, but with new purpose in her life, Naomi vows to track down Mary Rose’s attackers and bring them to justice. She places her story in the local paper, asking for information from residents who might remember something of the case that has been cold for nearly three decades.

She is about to lose hope that her efforts will bear fruit, when she gets an anonymous phone call. Naomi has attracted the attention of one who remembers the case well.

But someone else has also read the article in the paper. The man whose DNA she carries.

And he has Naomi in his sights.

Reviews:

“…Ms. Hovey’s talent in creating characters is so real, you feel their emotions and their fears. You want to yell at them to warn of the danger . . . and you do! Your shouts fall on deaf ears . . . and you cry!

Alfred Hitchcock and Stephen King come to mind, but JOAN HALL HOVEY is in a Class by herself!…”J.D. Michael Phelps, Author of My Fugitive, David Janssen

“…CANADIAN MISTRESS OF SUSPENSE…The author has a remarkable ability to turn up the heat on the suspense… great characterizations and dialogue…” James Anderson, author of Deadline

“…Can compete with any mystery,suspense novel on the shelves…” Linda Hersey,
Fredericton Gleaner, NB

Download from Amazon

FREE Kindle Book! “Fangs in Vain” by Scott Nicholson

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “Fangs In Vain” NOW!

Sabrina Vickers is on a mission from God. Unfortunately, she’s not quite sure what it is.

All she knows is that her lover Luke is a soulless vampire that she’s supposed to save, the forces of evil could be approaching, and her spiritual adviser is a fallen woman who has been falling for the past few hundred years. And, of course, Sabrina has yet to master the set of angel wings God granted her.

A romantic getaway turns into a showdown that could trigger the start of Armageddon, if Sabrina can’t handle her on-the-job training. The first installment of the Sabrina Vickers series features paranormal action, humor, and romantic fun.

(Originally published as “Fangs in Bed” under the pen name K.C. Carr.)

Download from Amazon

FREE Kindle Book! “Gamers” by Thomas K. Carpenter

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “Gamers” NOW!

Two points for brushing your teeth. Ten points for keeping your room tidy. Seventy-two points for the Bioeconomic Game Design pop quiz on the ride to school in your personal FunCar. Another thirty for making every hurdle in gym class.

Life is a game, unless you’re not the one winning.

Gabby DeCorte, top student and reality-hacker extraordinaire, has been doing whatever it takes to keep her best friend, Zaela, from falling behind in LifeGame. Zaela has gifts of artistry that amaze Gabby, but none of those skills translate in LifeGame and with final exams coming up, they can’t afford to waste a single minute. But when a mysterious group called the Frags contacts Gabby claiming to know what really happens to the losers of LifeGame, she must choose between winning and what she believes in.

Download from Amazon

FREE Kindle Book! “Wanted” by Amber Scott

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “WANTED” Now!

Time in a bottle…
Her inheritance amounted to a treasure map, a bottle of whiskey, and a wanted poster of the Old West gentleman outlaw she had resented her whole life.
One sip of the amber liquid tumbles her back in time and into the arms of the very man she resents.
But live and in person, his penetrating eyes and cocky swagger put her heart on the line. And his life…Wanted–Dead or Alive.

Download from Amazon

FREE Kindle Book! “Red Run” by Rob Cornell

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “Red Run” NOW!

Any father’s worst nightmare.

A knock on the door in the middle of the night.

A police detective tells you your daughter’s been found beaten to death and left in the Red Run Drain.

When you go to tell your son, he’s missing.

Evidence links your son to the killing.

What will you do to prove your son’s innocence? Will you sacrifice your own?

Download from Amazon

FREE Kindle Book! “The Highlander’s Hope” by Cali MacKay

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “The Highlander’s Hope” NOW!

When Dr. Catriona Ross discovers clues to a long lost highland treasure, her only hope of finding the jewels is to obtain the help of Scotland’s most eligible bachelor and playboy, Iain MacCraigh.

Iain can’t believe his luck when he finds out the jewels are hidden away somewhere on his land– and it doesn’t hurt that the historian looking for them has curves to go with her smarts. With his brother betting the family fortune, this is the life line he desperately needs.

The odds are against them, and with word getting out about the jewels, they’re not the only ones on the hunt. Time’s running out, but can they learn to trust each other, or will they lose the jewels and true love in the process?

* This is Book One in the series. *

Download from Amazon

FREE Kindle Book! “The Teacher That Didn’t Teach” by Shane Pacelli

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “The Teacher That Didn’t Teach” NOW!

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to have a teacher that didn’t teach? Straight A student Tommy Goodman and his friends are about to find out. These fifth graders at Jo King Elementary Shool are in for the most unique school year of their lives. Once their first year teacher, Mr. Befree, tells the class he will not teach the entire year, the students have to figure out a way to pass the Wisconsin State Tests (WST’s) at the end of the year. Mr. Befree creates a contract with the students stating that they are not allowed to do any learning while in the classroom. They are to do nothing the entire day while Mr. Befree does nothing as well. Will Tommy and his classmates ever learn this year? Is Mr. Befree serious about not teaching the class the entire year? Will their principal, Mr. Stricter, walk in on Mr. Befree doing nothing? Throughout this fast-paced novel, Tommy and his classmates will do whatever it takes to pass those dreaded WST’s. The Teacher That Didn’t Teach will have children asking questions the entire time about what will happen next.

Download from Amazon

FREE Kindle Book! “Shadows and Light – Judgement” by Hayley Barry-Smith

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download FREE from Smashwords!

In the shadow of Mortwood Forest dwells the most prolific murderer of the Kingdom. The curse he carries, however, may also make him their saviour. In a world where magic is lost and innocence is stolen, a prophesy begins. The darkest intentions hidden within every man’s soul are exposed, as Shadows and Light, and only one has the power to Judge them. But he is not what you expect.

This reader gave it five stars!

This is a really good opening to what the author is saying will be a series of one-shots set in the same world. That’s a fantastic idea, and seriously, I’m tempted to do something similar. There’s so much you can do with that, and what the author has done with this story is set up a whole lot of questions that she’ll answer (I guess!) in later one shots. However, while I’m really excited to read more of these stories, the one presented here has all the elements of a well written, stand alone, story. There’s hints at background without necessarily going into too much detail, a central character with a powerful and sympathetic voice, and an ending that’s pretty damn awesome. On a selfish note, I’m a writer if superhero fiction, and the descriptions of the character’s ‘powers’ in this short story are fantastic. He really comes across as an elemental kind of ‘spirit’ – possibly in the vein of Swamp Thing or Black Orchid, but he’s also really tied into his own world. I highly recommend this short story and this author. Barry-Smith has a great voice and I like that she will be releasing a novel next year.  – Ben Langdon

Download FREE from Smashwords!

FREE Kindle Book! “Roselynde” by Roberta Gellis

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download “Roselynde” NOW!

Roselynde Chronicles, Book OneBlush: This is a suggestive romance (loves scenes are not graphic).Alinor Devaux is beautiful and very rich. She is also an orphan, but her grandparents had not left her defenseless. She has been trained to manage her estates and to rule her vassals. But then the old king dies and Alinor becomes the ward of Richard Coeur de Lion. Alinor knows that her safety and the well-being of her precious lands rest on her ability to make her warden, Sir Simon Lemagne, her willing slave.Sir Simon has known many women, but never one like Alinor. He is an easy victim. But Alinor tumbles into love. Soon Sir Simon is the only man she will take as a husband. But Simon is no suitable match—he is poor and has no political power. The king would make no profit by permitting Simon to marry Alinor. In their struggle to be united despite the obstacles in their path, Lady Alinor and Sir Simon are swept from the Royal Court in England into King Richard’s Crusade, through the king’s conquest of Cyprus and into the Holy Land. They endure bloody battles and heartrending separations before Simon convinces King Richard to allow their love fruition in marriage.

Download from Amazon