FREE Kindle Book! “Shadows and Light – Judgement” by Hayley Barry-Smith

**Books are free for a LIMITED time. Be sure to check price before checkout.**

Download FREE from Smashwords!

In the shadow of Mortwood Forest dwells the most prolific murderer of the Kingdom. The curse he carries, however, may also make him their saviour. In a world where magic is lost and innocence is stolen, a prophesy begins. The darkest intentions hidden within every man’s soul are exposed, as Shadows and Light, and only one has the power to Judge them. But he is not what you expect.

This reader gave it five stars!

This is a really good opening to what the author is saying will be a series of one-shots set in the same world. That’s a fantastic idea, and seriously, I’m tempted to do something similar. There’s so much you can do with that, and what the author has done with this story is set up a whole lot of questions that she’ll answer (I guess!) in later one shots. However, while I’m really excited to read more of these stories, the one presented here has all the elements of a well written, stand alone, story. There’s hints at background without necessarily going into too much detail, a central character with a powerful and sympathetic voice, and an ending that’s pretty damn awesome. On a selfish note, I’m a writer if superhero fiction, and the descriptions of the character’s ‘powers’ in this short story are fantastic. He really comes across as an elemental kind of ‘spirit’ – possibly in the vein of Swamp Thing or Black Orchid, but he’s also really tied into his own world. I highly recommend this short story and this author. Barry-Smith has a great voice and I like that she will be releasing a novel next year.  – Ben Langdon

Download FREE from Smashwords!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *